American Medical Informatics Association

AMIA is the center of action for more than 4,000 health care professionals, informatics researchers, and thought-leaders in biomedicine, health care and science. AMIA is an unbiased, authoritative source within the informatics community and the health care industry. AMIA and its members are transforming healthcare through trusted science, education, and practice in biomedical and health informatics.

AMIA is the professional home of leading informaticians: clinicians, scientists, researchers, educators, students, and other informatics professionals who rely on data to connect people, information, and technology.

AMIA supports a broad community for interdisciplinary professionals and students interested in informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains across a continuum from basic and applied research, into clinical practice, and out to the consumer and public health arena. AMIA bridges the knowledge and collaboration in each of five domains: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.

- As described by

AMIA hosts several conferences each year, the biggest of which is the annual symposium. Click on the dropdown lists below to see how we've been involved.

Expand all

American College of Medical Informatics

See below for a list of ACMI Fellows who have been involved in the development of the informatics program at the University of Minnesota.

Present Faculty

  • Constantin Aliferis, MD, PhD (2007)
  • Connie J. Delaney, PhD, RN, FAAN (2004)
  • Laël C. Gatewood, PhD (1984)
  • Martin LaVenture, MPH, PhD (2011)
  • Geneveive Melton-Meaux, MD, PhD (2015)
  • Stuart M. Speedie, PhD (2008)
  • Bonnie Westra, PhD (2011)

Past Faculty

  • Eugene Ackerman, PhD (1985)
  • Christopher G. Chute, MD, DrPH (1995)
  • Donald P. Connelly, MD, PhD (1986)
  • Sherrilynne Fuller, PhD (1993)
  • Margaret Grier, PhD (1998)
  • William A. Yasnoff, MD, PhD, (1989)

UMN Alumni

  • Morris Collen, MD (1984)
  • David Demets, PhD (2008)
  • George Demiris, PhD (2011)
  • John Glaser, PhD (1995)
  • Alan Rector, MD, PhD, FBCS (2003)
  • Edward Shultz, MD, MS (1992)
  • Kent Spackman, MD, PhD (1992)
  • Peter Tarczy-Hornoch, MD (2004)

IPHIE Faculty

  • Elske Ammenwerth, DrSc (2011)
  • George Demiris, PhD (2011)
  • R. Scott Evans, PhD (1997)
  • Reed Gardner, PhD, emeritus (1985)
  • Arie Hasman, PhD, emeritus (2006)
  • Reinhold Haux, PhD, emeritus (1999)
  • Yi-Chun (Jack) Li, MD, PhD (2010)
  • Joyce Mitchell, PhD (1989)
  • Peter Tarczy-Hornoch, MD (2004)